Skip to main content

Student champions

15 March 2024
Submitted by on 15 March 2024

Congratulations to the winners of this year’s Selwyn three minute thesis competition. It’s an opportunity for undergraduate and postgraduate students to explain their academic work - against the clock. The senior tutor, Dr Mike Sewell, describes the event as “a fun and interesting session where students at various stages of their careers – undergraduate, MPhil and doctoral – present briefly about the project work that they are doing.” It’s a means of showing the range and ambition of studies within the college.

Thesis winners with Roger Mosey

We heard from 16 speakers over two nights, with a good audience turnout in the Quarry Whitehouse auditorium. The winners were:

Wednesday 13 March - Matthew Doyle (undergraduate) and Joel Kandiah (postgraduate).

Thursday - Edith Charlesworth (undergraduate) and Jaylen Simons (postgraduate).


Edith, Jaylen and Joel are seen with the master Roger Mosey, who presented the prizes. The college is grateful to the JCR and MCR for organising the contests.