Skip to main content

Chapel Services

Body

Carol Service in Selwyn ChapelWe are delighted to welcome you to services in Selwyn Chapel, which are open to all.

 

Details of this term's services can be found in the Chapel Card. Details of the choir's music can be found here.

Sunday Services

10.30am College Communion

A service of the Eucharist with readings, prayers, a short address and a sharing in communion.  After this service everyone who has taken part shares brunch together in Hall.

6pm Choral Evensong with a guest speaker

A beautiful traditional service of music, prayers and readings sung by our full choir with an address from a guest preacher. This is followed by drinks and chapel supper. 

Weekday services

Morning prayer is said at 8.45am, Monday to Thursday throughout term.

Choral Evensong is conducted at 6.30pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout term (the days of Formal Hall) and provides a space of reflection after the working day. A microsermon by a student, choir member or fellow is preached on Tuesdays.

Special Services for Lent Term 2024

CHORAL EUCHARIST for the Feast of the Presentation, or Candlemas, with procession around Old Court and blessing of candles will take place on Sunday 28 January at 6pm.

PATTESON TALK To launch our ecological responsibility initiative in Chapel there will be a talk on climate change, community science and the Church in the Solomon Islands, an area of the world with which Selwyn has a particular connection, and which helps highlight for us the global impact of climate change. Tuesday 6 February at 5pm.

SHROVE TUESDAY PANCAKES will be served as part of the Tuesday Welfare Tea (3pm Weeks 3-6) on Tuesday 13 February 3-4.30pm in the Borradaile Room. Feast before fast!

CHORAL EUCHARIST for Ash Wednesday with Imposition of Ashes will take place on Wednesday 14 February at 6pm. The Choir will sing Allegri’s famous setting of Psalm 51.

COMPLINE BY CANDLELIGHT in Latin takes place Wednesday 6 March at 9.30pm.

ROMAN CATHOLIC MASS will be celebrated in Chapel on Monday 11 March at 6pm.

CHAPEL RETREAT Three days of talks, walks and peace over the Easter Vacation at the beautiful Launde Abbey in Leicestershire, Friday 12th- Sunday 14th April. Accommodation and meals provided for a heavily subsidised rate. Do get in touch to express your interest.

CONFIRMATION PREPARATION If you have not been confirmed, or indeed baptised, and you would like to consider this step the Dean and Chaplain would love to speak to you and help you think it through! Service of Confirmation, Sunday 19 May at 6pm.

All Choral Services are livestreamed here

Past services and orders of service can be found in the archive below. 

 

Videos, Livestreams and Notice Sheets for past services

If you wish to follow our regular Evensongs, please use these Orders of Service

Sunday Evensong

Week day Evensong 

 

 

Lent Term 2024 Chapel Services

Sunday 25 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Thursday 22 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Tuesday 20 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Sunday 18 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Thursday 15 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Wednesday 14 February - Choral Eucharist with Imposition of Ashes

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 13 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Sunday 11 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Thursday 8 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Tuesday 6 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Sunday 4 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Thursday 1 February - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Tuesday 30 January - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Sunday 28 January - Choral Eucharist for Candlemas, with procession

Order of Service

 

Thursday 25 January - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Tuesday 23 January - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Sunday 21 January - Epiphanytide Carol Service 

Order of Service

 

Thursday 18 January - Choral Evensong

Chapel Notices

 

Michaelmas Term 2023 Chapel Services

Sunday 3 December - Service of Lessons and Carols 

Order of Servic

 

Thursday 30 November - Service of Lessons and Carols

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 28 November - Choral Evensong

Notice Sheet 

 

Sunday 26 November - Music and Readings for the Feast of Christ the King

Order of Service

 

Thursday 23 November - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Wednesday 22 November - Choral Compline

Order of Service 

 

Tuesday 21 November - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Sunday 19 November - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Thursday 16 November - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 14 November - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Sunday 12 November - Service of Music and Readings for Remembrance

Order of Service

 

Thursday 9 November - Choral Evensong

 

Tuesday 7 November - Choral Evensong

 

Sunday 5 November - Festal Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Thursday 2 November - Choral Requiem Mass 

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 31 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Sunday 29 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Thursday 26 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 24 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Sunday 22 October - Choral Evensong 

Order of Service

 

Thursday 19 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 17 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Sunday 15 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Thursday 12 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Wednesday 11 October - Choral Compline

Order of Service

 

Tuesday 10 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Sunday 8 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service

 

Thursday 5 October - Choral Evensong

Order of Service 

 

Sunday 1 October - Freshers' Welcome Service

Order of Service

 

Saturday 23 September - Choral Evensong for Commemoration of Benefactors

Order of Service