Skip to main content

8. Practical Information and contacts


8.0.1 People and Contacts

The College community works because we all work cooperatively together. One of the best pieces of advice for any member of the Selwyn community is that you can never be too polite or too respectful in dealings with other members of College, whatever their role or status. Your life will be much easier if you maintain good relationships with other members of both the Selwyn community and the University more generally.

This section of the Guide gives you information about who does what and what facilities are available to you.

8.0.2 The Master and Fellows

The Master of the College is Mr Roger Mosey. The Senior Tutor is Dr Mike Sewell. The Bursar is Ms Jennifer Phillips. The Vice-Master is Professor Janet O’Sullivan.

The Teaching Fellows, Research Fellows and academic Bye-Fellows, with their subjects, are listed in a separate page.

8.0.3 The Tutorial and Admissions Office

The Tutorial Office Manager and Senior Tutor’s Assistant (Miss Gina Vivian-Neal), the Praelector’s and Graduate Tutors’ Assistant, (Mrs Samantha Carr) the Praelector's Assistant (Mrs Karen Barnard) and the Tutorial Administrator (Mrs Harriet Dann) have their offices on the 1st Floor of the Christopher Dobson Building in Ann’s Court. Arrangements are made here for Matriculation (formal admission as a member of the University), entry to examinations, exam access arrangements, dealing with routine tutorial paperwork, detailed consideration of Student Support Documents and other important aspects of student life in Cambridge.

The Tutors to undergraduates are Dr Mike Sewell (Senior Tutor), Dr Carol Armitage, Professor Patrick Baert, Dr Daniel Beauregard, Dr Stuart Eves, Dr Alan Howard, Dr Myungun Kim, Dr Charlotte Reinbold, Professor Stewart Sage, Dr Rupert Thompson, Dr Charlotte Woodford and Dr Vicky Young.

The Tutors for Postgraduate Students are Dr Ronita Bardhan, Dr Jörg Haustein, Dr Joseph Bitney, Dr David Smith and Professor Robert Tasker. Professor Heather Webb is Postgraduate Admissions Tutor. In cooperation with the other postgraduate Tutors, she deals with postgraduate admissions matters. The postgraduate Tutors are available to be consulted by current undergraduates through the Postgraduate Admissions Officer, Mrs Carr.

The undergraduate Admissions Tutors are Dr Daniel Beauregard, Dr Stuart Eves and Dr Tom Smith. The Admissions Office located with the Tutorial Office in Ann’s Court. The Admissions Officer (Mrs Stephanie Pym) and the Schools Liaison Officers complete the admissions team. See Section 9 of this Guide for further details of how you can become involved in our outreach work.